What do I do? And why do I do it?

In seventh grade, I began a bi-weekly column in a local Connecticut newspaper that allowed me to express my opinion on a variety of topics, giving me a taste of freelance writing. Additionally, I had a space in a small town gazette where I published a “Poetry Shelf,” a single poem that came out every one to two weeks.

I always loved writing and thoroughly enjoyed elaborating on an idea that others don’t seem to consider.

As odd as it may seem, I write about emotions, feelings, and aspirations- topics that seem beyond my years to even discuss. Many people were hesitant to even read about the thoughts of a middle-schooler, but were baffled to realize that I offered a truly unique perspective that made them stop and think for themselves.

I will be adding some of these more popular pieces to the blog, to share them with more of you!

Now, as a high schooler, I write for a much larger area newspaper that also has a digital edition online. I continue to think of out-of-the-ordinary ideas that even seem to interest adults.

Through my articles, I do not try to teach people anything, and I do not contribute controversial ideas. Simply put, I write to give people a little inspiration or advice that is often forgotten.

Writing is a form of art, personal expression, and freedom that gives you sharing rights to the world. This blog is to reach out to my target audience, teens, who could use a good influence any day.

Let’s connect and BE the good influence for each other.

We can work to make each and every day the best for ourselves, and each other.

image

Leave a Reply

